This blogpost refers to the “Back in Action” Trickdraw card. You may have received it by backing the Trickdraw Kickstarter, by requesting it to be used with a Promotional Edition, or by some other top secret means. “Back in Action” is not part of the base game. Its use is entirely optional.
This is the first card in Trickdraw to interact with the discard pile. As such, it is important when playing with this card to keep the discard pile tidy, and to stay mindful of which card is on top. This is not necessary for normal Trickdraw gameplay (but still recommended).
How do I include it in the deck? After you’ve had a chance to play the base game without Back in Action, shuffle all 4 copies into the deck and play as normal. Note: since we are still in the process of testing this card, we aren’t sure if 4 is the correct quantity. Feel free to also try with 2 or 3 copies (we think 1 is too few). Regardless of how many you choose to shuffle, email us your thoughts about the card at email@example.com. It helps us out a lot to hear what you think! Below I’ve outlined the rules and some specific interactions. If you have further questions, please include them in your email so I can note them in future rule clarifications (such as the expansion rulebook!).
Now what if we use Back in Action to reactivate one of those cards? Does Back in Action gain that effect indefinitely (Local Hero until the end of time)? No. Back in Action only reactivates a card’s effect as Back in Action is played to the field. I’ll break down some examples for what happens if the following cards are in the discard pile:
Rally: You gain as many points as you have Rally cards. If you have no Rally cards, you gain no points. As with Local Hero, check if you won the game. If you did, great! If not, nothing happens. You don’t keep the points past the moment you play Back in Action.
Diplomacy, Thieves Guild, Money Talks, Black Market: The effects of these cards are activated for the duration of the Back in Action effect. That means until you play another card, activate another card. or pass the turn, you can utilize their benefit (once). For example, if you activate
Diplomacy: you don’t have to discard a card if your next action this turn requires you to discard a card. Obviously, if you’re out of actions, then activating Diplomacy does nothing.